Page Location: Home > Support > PC-DC Server > Topic
Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Logan_GBA
rank 1
Posted:
Sat Mar 19, 2005 12:19 am
quote : #31
profile : pm
Posts: 4
Type: NYSC-U
Dreamcast wrote:
So far Genezis was the only one to post the most important part of the information... Whether or not it's ISA or PCI. PCI typically means it's a software modem. ISAs are hardware (which is what I think we are aiming for). I FINALLY got Quake III working and can play LAN games with it now through a 33k ISA modem in a 133 MHz machine.


hmm, most software modems, aka "WinModems", don't work under linux

my modem card works under pure dos mode too as well as the fact I had to upgrade it's flash rom had to be updated for it work with v.90 (and V.42 error correction protocol and also V.42bis data compression protocol), and it's a ISA card, sooo, all these facts point to that it's a "old-school" hardware modem.

cool, "old school"

FYI, sometimes, I think I'm a real dumbass Rolling Eyes
 
Kbuzz
rank 23
Posted:
Mon Jun 13, 2005 11:38 am
quote : #32
profile : pm
Posts: 473
Type: NTSC-U/C
man this topic died down.

What would be real cool, is a guide to do this with netbsd!
  _________________
Pso: Kingbuzzo lvl 80
QUake 3: [OC] Kingbuzzo
circ
rank 9
Posted:
Mon Jun 13, 2005 12:27 pm
quote : #33
profile : pm
Posts: 117
We cant make a guide because there is no 100% answer to how to actually get it working. This is what the thread is for to find out all of the settings people used that got it working. Research Razz
  _________________
XBOX LIVE GAMERTAG: CIRCUK

CONTACT ME VIA PM OR EMAIL IF YOU WANT TO TALK TO ME
Htbaa
rank 6
Posted:
Sun Jun 19, 2005 4:40 pm
quote : #34
profile : pm
Posts: 49
To those who used a conexant 56k modem: What is it's full name?

My laptop is equiped with a Conexant D480 MDC V.92 Modem

Is it the same modem?
  _________________
Htbaa

http://www.pcc-online.net
Dreamcast ™
rank 39
Posted:
Sun Jun 19, 2005 5:38 pm
quote : #35
profile : pm
Posts: 922
Type: NTSC-U/C
Here's what I'm working on...

I'm attempting to connect with a Linux distribution called Knoppix. It boots and runs completely from the CD-ROM so you can keep your Windows machine Windows.

It's readily available here and anyone can use it.

It would even be possible to post a file that you could download that will have all of the configuration settings so you don't even have to set anything up.

I'll let you know how this goes as soon as I get it worked out.

- Dreamcast
 
Kbuzz
rank 23
Posted:
Sun Jun 19, 2005 6:22 pm
quote : #36
profile : pm
Posts: 473
Type: NTSC-U/C
now THAT would be very interesting!
  _________________
Pso: Kingbuzzo lvl 80
QUake 3: [OC] Kingbuzzo
MasterChief
rank 25
Posted:
Sun Jun 19, 2005 7:54 pm
quote : #37
profile : pm
Posts: 516
nice. i already have a knopix disk arround here somewhere. so i can test it asap.
  _________________
"All men are frauds. The only difference between them is that some admit it. I myself deny it." -- H.L. Mencken

Now Playing: PS3 - Brutal Legend, 360 - Red Dead Redemption, Wii - MadWorld, DC - Dux
macnet
rank 9
Posted:
Fri Mar 03, 2006 5:14 pm
quote : #38
profile : pm
Posts: 108
Hi.

I finally tried to put a PC-DC server working on my house but I found some problems...

I did everything mentioned on this website tech guide but I couldn't create a shortcut for the Dial-Up server app.

regardless of that I managed to set up everything by going to My computer\Dial- Up access to the network\Connections

I set up my dc connection with PlanetWebBrowser 3.0.

The telephone number to dial I chose was 1.
When I dialed from my DC, I ran to the computer and selected "Allow caller access" and clicked apply.

Now the computer starts making a big noise (like a dial-up connection) and displays a message:

"MONITORING"

after a minute or so it stops and says that it can't find a modem or a network (I don't remember 100% what it was)

Anyone knows this problem?
Can you please help'

I use WIN98 SE and I have a 56k internal modem from Creative Labs.

Thanks!
  _________________
PSO Legit player. Playing almost everyday around 22.30h GMT
nickname : macnet

Also a Maximum Pool player.
Wanna play with me? PM me and schedule a game!
Dreamcast ™
rank 39
Posted:
Fri Mar 03, 2006 5:29 pm
quote : #39
profile : pm
Posts: 922
Type: NTSC-U/C
Here are some samples I made. Tell me which is the sound you heard:

 
macnet
rank 9
Posted:
Sat Mar 04, 2006 9:14 am
quote : #40
profile : pm
Posts: 108
it's like the 2nd file and it's the same sound as if the computer wasn't connected to the dreamcast.

I'll post my modem log file when I try again.

do you have a plugin on your browser to open .amr files? (Nokia mobile phones sound file)

If so I'll post a link to my webpage with the sound.

this is the file log:


03-04-2006 15:48:28.31 - Creative Modem Blaster V.90 PCI DI5797 in use.
03-04-2006 15:48:28.31 - Modem type: Creative Modem Blaster V.90 PCI DI5797
03-04-2006 15:48:28.31 - Modem inf path: MDMV90.INF
03-04-2006 15:48:28.31 - Modem inf section: Modem2
03-04-2006 15:48:28.59 - 115200,N,8,1
03-04-2006 15:48:28.59 - 115200,N,8,1
03-04-2006 15:48:28.59 - Initializing modem.
03-04-2006 15:48:28.59 - Send: AT<cr>
03-04-2006 15:48:28.63 - Recv: AT<cr>
03-04-2006 15:48:28.63 - Recv: <cr><lf>OK<cr><lf>
03-04-2006 15:48:28.63 - Interpreted response: Ok
03-04-2006 15:48:28.63 - Send: AT &F E0 S0=0 E1 V1 &D2 &C1 <cr>
03-04-2006 15:48:28.67 - Recv: AT &F E0 S0=0 E1 V1 &D2 &C1 <cr>
03-04-2006 15:48:28.95 - Recv: <cr><lf>OK<cr><lf>
03-04-2006 15:48:28.95 - Interpreted response: Ok
03-04-2006 15:48:28.95 - Send: ATS7=255M1+ES=3,0,2;+DS=3;+IFC=2,2;X4<cr>
03-04-2006 15:48:28.99 - Recv: ATS7=255M1+ES=3,0,2;+DS=3;+IFC=2,2;X4<cr>
03-04-2006 15:48:29.35 - Recv: <cr><lf>OK<cr><lf>
03-04-2006 15:48:29.35 - Interpreted response: Ok
03-04-2006 15:48:29.35 - Waiting for a call.
03-04-2006 15:48:29.35 - Send: ATS0=0<cr>
03-04-2006 15:48:29.39 - Recv: ATS0=0<cr>
03-04-2006 15:48:29.43 - Recv: <cr><lf>OK<cr><lf>
03-04-2006 15:48:29.43 - Interpreted response: Ok
03-04-2006 15:48:29.43 - Send: ATA<cr>
03-04-2006 15:48:29.47 - Recv: ATA<cr>
03-04-2006 15:50:11.74 - Hanging up the modem.
03-04-2006 15:50:11.81 - Session Statistics:
03-04-2006 15:50:11.81 - Reads : 105 bytes
03-04-2006 15:50:11.81 - Writes: 81 bytes
03-04-2006 15:50:11.81 - Creative Modem Blaster V.90 PCI DI5797 closed.

I'll post the sound in a few minutes.

How much time do we need to accept the remote call on the computer after hitting connect on PSO or PlanetWeb 3.0?

Last edited by macnet on Sat Mar 04, 2006 10:05 am; edited 2 times in total
  _________________
PSO Legit player. Playing almost everyday around 22.30h GMT
nickname : macnet

Also a Maximum Pool player.
Wanna play with me? PM me and schedule a game!
Dreamcast ™
rank 39
Posted:
Sat Mar 04, 2006 9:24 am
quote : #41
profile : pm
Posts: 922
Type: NTSC-U/C
Not sure. Post it anyways. I'm sure I can find a converter.

Posted Sat Mar 04, 2006 10:40 am:

Macnet, just to make it easier, do this:

Go to &quot;start&quot; -&gt; &quot;program files&quot; -&gt; &quot;accessories&quot; -&gt; &quot;entertainment&quot; and select &quot;volume control.&quot; Go to &quot;options&quot; -&gt; &quot;properties&quot; and select the radio button labeled &quot;recording&quot; and check all of the boxes in the list below it and hit &quot;OK.&quot;

Now, under &quot;Stereo Mix,&quot; check the box that says &quot;select.&quot; and make sure the volume is all the way up.

Go to &quot;start&quot; -&gt; &quot;program files&quot; -&gt; &quot;accessories&quot; -&gt; &quot;entertainment&quot; and select &quot;sound recorder.&quot; Hit record and then play the .amr file. This should capture it and record it. Now in sound recorder, save it as a &quot;.wav&quot; or even better, &quot;.mp3&quot; if you have Windows 2000/XP.

Posted Sat Mar 04, 2006 11:09 am:





Hit connect on the Dreamcast, and once it says "Dialing," wait about 5 or 8 seconds and then hit "connect" on the PC/DC server.
 
macnet
rank 9
Posted:
Sun Mar 05, 2006 12:50 pm
quote : #42
profile : pm
Posts: 108
I did as you told me and it didn't work out...
I had to hand over the modem to its owner today and so ,for now, PC/DC server is not on my mind in the near future.

I did EVERYTHING that was mentioned on the guide..

Probably I'll need to a Line Voltage Inducer.

I'll buy an external 56k modem.
  _________________
PSO Legit player. Playing almost everyday around 22.30h GMT
nickname : macnet

Also a Maximum Pool player.
Wanna play with me? PM me and schedule a game!
Dreamcast ™
rank 39
Posted:
Sun Mar 05, 2006 1:09 pm
quote : #43
profile : pm
Posts: 922
Type: NTSC-U/C
Yes, about 90% of the time, the voltage inducer is needed. I don't have a single modem that can connect without it. As for the guide, disregard it as you're doing, for the time being. In a month or two, there's going to be a much easier way to connect with WIndows operating systems 95* through XP.

Go ahead and build my "coder's cable" style if you can find the parts, but there's even going to be a better guide for that around the time the new connection guide is put up.

*95 is still up in the air. There isn't a definitive yes or no, yet.
 
John Square
rank 1
Posted:
Wed Apr 05, 2006 7:20 am
quote : #44
profile : pm
Posts: 4
Dreamcast wrote:
Yes, about 90% of the time, the voltage inducer is needed. I don't have a single modem that can connect without it. As for the guide, disregard it as you're doing, for the time being. In a month or two, there's going to be a much easier way to connect with WIndows operating systems 95* through XP.

Go ahead and build my "coder's cable" style if you can find the parts, but there's even going to be a better guide for that around the time the new connection guide is put up.

*95 is still up in the air. There isn't a definitive yes or no, yet.


Hi All,

Sorry to bump this topic (and with a first post too), but I'm about to get my hands dirty trying to do the PC>DC server thing with an old Win2k Laptop I've got kicking around, and - whilst I enjoy a challenge as much as the next person- it can wait a week or two if an easier method is going to be arriving imminently.

So, will I be better off waiting, or do I crack on with it now?
 
Dreamcast ™
rank 39
Posted:
Wed Apr 05, 2006 7:39 am
quote : #45
profile : pm
Posts: 922
Type: NTSC-U/C
Go ahead and give it a try. I have Windows 2000 set up as a dial-in server and it works fine. Just make sure you get the right "answer" command for your modem. Mine wasn't the one that was suggested in the guide.
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Display:   
 
View previous topic - View next topic
Page Location: Home > Support > PC-DC Server > Topic
Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next