Page Location: Home > Support > PC-DC Server > Topic

Forum: PC-DC Server

Topic: Line Voltage Inducer

Page 1 of 1
Muzer
rank 1
Posted:
Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:03 pm
quote : #1
profile : pm
Posts: 4
I'm trying to get my Linux box set up as a server. I've found I need a Line Voltage Inducer - I used a 1uF electrolytic cap and a 400Ohm resistor (I didn't have a 390Ohm). I've not soldered it yet but will do if I get it to work. I just dissected a standard modem cable to make this - the same one I was trying to use to connect it before I made the voltage inducer.

I'm not currently at the stage of connecting my dreamcast up, as I don't have the software - I'm just trying with an old Psion Series 5 with the Travel Modem at the moment, but I will try with a different computer tomorrow (in case the problem originates in the Psion), and then once that works onto the Dreamcast.


Basically, I've got much further than without a line voltage inducer, but when the two modems get to the stage where they transfer "noise" (what sounds like white noise - as opposed to tones), it sounds like there is some interference or something - sounding like the noise you get when someone blows into a microphone. I'm reasonably sure that shouldn't be there, but what could be causing it? As I said, I'll try it computer <-> computer tomorrow so I'll see if it's that.


Log output for mgetty:

--
02/14 22:55:21 SF0 mgetty: interim release 1.1.36-Jun15
02/14 22:55:21 SF0 check for lockfiles
02/14 22:55:21 SF0 locking the line
02/14 22:55:21 SF0 lowering DTR to reset Modem
02/14 22:55:22 SF0 send: \dATQ0V1H0[0d]
02/14 22:55:23 SF0 waiting for ``OK'' ** found **
02/14 22:55:23 SF0 send: AT[0d]
02/14 22:55:23 SF0 waiting for ``OK'' ** found **
02/14 22:55:23 SF0 waiting...
02/14 22:56:15 SF0 wfr: waiting for ``RING''
02/14 22:56:15 SF0 send: ATA[0d]
02/14 22:56:15 SF0 waiting for ``CONNECT''

(wait for quite a while after everything has stopped making noises)

02/14 22:57:05 SF0 found action string: ``NO CARRIER''
02/14 22:57:05 ##### failed A_FAIL dev=ttySHSF0, pid=945, caller='none', conn='', name=''

EDIT: Never mind - it needed a new 9V battery. But now it's excruciatingly slow, slower than I'd expect dialup to be (though it has been ages since I've used it) - as I said, I haven't tried a Dreamcast, this is just a Psion Series 5 ;p

EDIT: It's still really not working properly - I think the resistor value is too high. I'll purchase a lower one next time I get some parts
 
lordnikon
rank 86
Posted:
Mon Feb 15, 2010 7:32 pm
quote : #2
profile : pm
Posts: 5897
Type: NTSC-U/C
Kingbuzzo's recent adventures in PC-DC servers also resulted in sporatic slow connections, which at this point the cause is unknown.
  _________________
I'm already numero uno on Dark Helmet's hit list...
Kbuzz
rank 23
Posted:
Wed Feb 17, 2010 12:15 am
quote : #3
profile : pm
Posts: 473
Type: NTSC-U/C
yeah mine can be really slow too. I doubt it would have anything to do with the line voltage emitter. Maybe with the quality of the modem. I've purchased a performance pro modem from US Robotics so once I can set it up I'll give it a go.
  _________________
Pso: Kingbuzzo lvl 80
QUake 3: [OC] Kingbuzzo
jjc5150
rank 11
Posted:
Sat Feb 20, 2010 9:16 am
quote : #4
profile : pm
Posts: 159
Type: NTSC-U/C
with mine ive noticed 2 things, could be the modem, OR the Phone cable itself. Use a high quality phone cable - preferably solid copper, make sure the solder connections are good, and also ive found that the shorter the cable length the better.
  _________________
Quake III DC ID : JJC5150 DC
Xlink ID: JJC5150
PSN ID : JJC5150
Jabber ID: JJC5150@jabber.org
Muzer
rank 1
Posted:
Sun Mar 07, 2010 5:13 pm
quote : #5
profile : pm
Posts: 4
Replaced cap and resistor with the lower limit for both on the tutorial page, it flies now! Well, in relation to before - I haven't measured the speed yet...

Now, to try to get my DC set up online - is there another method to buying a disc? Is there a piece of homebrew that'll do it?
 
jjc5150
rank 11
Posted:
Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:18 am
quote : #6
profile : pm
Posts: 159
Type: NTSC-U/C
well you should be able to get a planetweb browser cd off of ebay for really cheap, and also some of the online games have a setup feature installed in them (i know quake 3 does). other than that you can google for the xdp browser (Homebrew).
  _________________
Quake III DC ID : JJC5150 DC
Xlink ID: JJC5150
PSN ID : JJC5150
Jabber ID: JJC5150@jabber.org
Kbuzz
rank 23
Posted:
Thu Sep 02, 2010 8:08 pm
quote : #7
profile : pm
Posts: 473
Type: NTSC-U/C
you're using the exact values listed on the tutorial? .47 FD and 330 ohms?

I need to check the values I used when I get home, but yeah my connection was horribly slow.

However, when I switched over to a Rev A modem, the connection worked beautifully. I know that the Rev A modem shouldn't need the voltage sim, but it wont work without it! So who knows.

I'll experiment with different values, and AC adapter vs 9v battery.
  _________________
Pso: Kingbuzzo lvl 80
QUake 3: [OC] Kingbuzzo
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Display:   
 
View previous topic - View next topic
Page Location: Home > Support > PC-DC Server > Topic